August 2019 Music Picks

Love, Fame, Tragedy “My Cheating Heart”

Fans of the Wombats will definitely want to check out Love, Fame, Tragedy – the solo project of Wombats singer/ songwriter Matthew Murphy. “My Cheating Heart” is an early release from the EP “I Don’t Want To Play The Victim But I’m Really Good At It” coming on September 14th, which includes collaborations with musicians from The Pixies, Alt-J, Pearl Jam, Bastille, The Killers and more. Many of the songs started out as tunes for the last Wombats album, so the familiar sound is there…but with a few new twists. The plan is to release one new song & video each month until it forms a full album. Something to look forward to!

The 1975 “People”

The 1975 is a band that refuses to be pigeonholed. I was really impressed with the diversity of their sound when I saw them live a couple of years ago. Now they’re heading off in yet another completely different direction with the aggressive lead single “People” from the new album “Notes On A Conditional Form” coming in 2020. Wasn’t quite sure what to think but I found myself strangely intrigued. I daresay this one is going to surprise a lot of people.

 

This entry was posted in Music, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment